Animation Books

Print, Music, Theater, Online, Games and other Merchandise
AV Forum Member
AV Forum Member

Animation Books

Post by walt1928 » November 4th, 2007, 7:42 pm

I am doing my thesis paper on animation and education, and was looking for books you would recommend on the history of animation (especailly eary, theories) or any other animation books. Thanks

AV Founder
AV Founder

Post by Randall » November 5th, 2007, 12:38 am

This list would make a great start, depending on what you're looking for:

Walt in Wonderland
Walter Lantz Story
Hand Behind the Mouse
That's All Folks (Warner Bros. history)
Disney Animation: The Illusion of Life
Of Mice and Men (Maltin's essential book)
Winsor McCay (Canemaker book)
The Fleischer Story (by Leslie Carbaga)
Felix: The Twisted Tale of the World's Most Famous Cat
Hollywood Cartoons (Michael Barrier)

AV Founder
AV Founder

Post by Ben » November 5th, 2007, 8:35 am

I think you're in the UK, right?

If you want a British bent, look for the excellent Halas & Batcherlor Cartoons and generally for Charles Solomon's The History Of Animation.

Gosh...there are so many books out there that all provide a unique angle. I know you have asked for my personal thoughts on a lot of other stuff, but if you can be more specific maybe we can slim things down and point you in a "narrower" direction?

:)

AV Forum Member
AV Forum Member

Post by walt1928 » November 5th, 2007, 9:09 pm

Thanks, Im in the US, near Los Angeles. I have the books the art of Walt Disney, Disney's Art of Animation, Disney Animation, and my school library has acces to most journals, newspaper articles. I was looking for a connection between animation and visual culture (all the images/video we see during the day) and also a history book that might explain the persistence of vision and how it came about. Thanks again.

GeorgeC

Post by GeorgeC » November 5th, 2007, 9:58 pm

"Persistence of vision" ISN'T an animation term. It's a general film term.