The Year Without a Santa Claus

Small Screen Specials, Series and Direct-To-Video
AV Team
AV Team

The Year Without a Santa Claus

Post by Josh » December 6th, 2006, 12:53 am

For Animated News, I've been trying to find more info on NBC's live-action update of The Year Without a Santa Claus. Without much luck, I ended up trying YouTube.

You know those delightful musical numbers "Snow Miser" and "Heat Miser" from the 1974 Rankin/Bass classic? Yeah...

Personally, I'm somewhat disappointed. I've been hoping for several years that Warner Bros. would go all-out on a live-action adaptation of The Year Without a Santa Claus. In that regard, I think it might have been fun to see Jim Carrey as Snow Miser and Jack Black as Heat Miser.

AV Forum Member
AV Forum Member

Post by Daniel » December 6th, 2006, 1:26 am

I was just about to suggest making this its own thread Mickey :)

As you, I'm somewhat dissapointed on many levels. Growing up with the timeless Rankin/Bass special, it's impossible to understand the feeling it bestowed in me, let alone explain.

From what I've seen, both the link and commercials, it seems very different and that doesn't mean good. Truth be told, I think you got something with suggesting Jim Carrey as Snow Miser. In fact, I could easily picture him in that role. :P

Regardless, of what I think. I'm gonna tune in and see what NBC churnes out! Whether its good or bad, remains to be unknown ;)

Btw... If worse comes to worse, 'ABC Family' will at least be airing the original classic, countless times this month :D

AV Forum Member
AV Forum Member

Post by ShyViolet » December 6th, 2006, 2:15 am

LOL....isn't that the song Schwartzenegger sang in Batman and Robin while making his Henchmen watch the cartoon and sing it too?
You can’t just have your characters announce how they feel! That makes me feel angry!

AV Forum Member
AV Forum Member

Post by ShyViolet » December 6th, 2006, 2:16 am